A friend of mine always laments about this or that – I’d want to or like to do, but I don’t have the time or she’ll say, I know I’m wrong, and I cannot forgive myself.

Know one’s weakness or fault is good and I believe most people do eventually find out the reason(s) for their mistakes. Full stop and that is. They never make an effort to learn and correct their mistakes. Gradually, they’ll repeat the mistakes even though knowing they shouldn’t. They looked back, regret, and wait…and wait. All these hinder progress.

This brings to the question of attitude which is responsible for almost every thought, outlook and our focus on things we have throughout life’s journey. The complexity of our thoughts leave the possibilities wide open for just about anything.

There was an article about a study done on concentration camp survivors to determine the common characteristics of those who did not die from disease or starvation. Victor Frankl was a living answer to that question. Before the Nazis threw him into a concentration camp, he was a successful psychiatrist. After his rescue, Victor Frankl traveled the world, sharing his story: “There is only one reason why I am here today. You kept me alive. Others gave up hope. I dreamed that someday I would be here telling you how I, Victor Frankl, had survived the Nazi concentration camps. I’ve never been here before, I’ve never seen any of you before, and I’ve never given this speech before. But in my dreams, I have stood before you and said these words a thousand times.”

Outlook determines outcome. Victor Frankl survived because he chose a right focus, keeping his eyes fixed on what was ahead.

There are times when life can seem like an unscalable mountain. If we stop and do not make an effort to continue climbing, we’ll never ever reach the summit.

Anyone who has have experienced climbing a mountain will tell you that waiting or resting will not bring  down the summit. A mountain does not get smaller because we wait for the size to decrease. The only way that we get closer to the top is by taking one step at a time. An amazing transformation takes place as we climb the mountain ahead of us—it appears smaller until finally we are on the top.

We all face disappointments and failures. To be successful, we have to refuse to accept failure. Colonel Sanders, the founder of Kentucky Fried Chicken, was rejected on many occasions, laughed at about his attire of his starched white shirt and white pants. However, Sanders persevered, and after a little over 1,000 visits, he finally persuaded Pete Harman in South Salt Lake, Utah to partner with him. They launched the first “Kentucky Fried Chicken” site in 1952. The rest of the story, as they say, is history.

Failures, disappointments, trials can sometimes seem too much to handle, but we can overcome them and succeed by first beginning to climb. Don’t stop. Keep going.

